Posted by: cg00n | April 25, 2008

In the beginning

For more years than I can remember I have had a brown patch about 3mm x 2mm on my right heel.  I always thought it was just a birthmark and paid little attention to it.  Yes, I had heard that one should pay attention to moles and notice if they change colour or size or whatever, but it always looked much as I remembered.

About six weeks ago I did have occasion to take more notice.  It had come up in a lump which was rubbing against the strap of my sandel and getting sore.  I figured it was just a blister, but I went to my doctor anyway.   He referred me to a dermatologist who turned out to be on vacation for two weeks.  When she got back and looked at it she referred me to a plastic surgeon because she wasn’t  confident that she could sew up such a large incision on the heel (which gets a lot of squeezing and stretching as you walk).

So it was that two weeks or so ago I had the whole mess removed and replaced with seven stitches and went home to wait for the lab analysis of the excised tissue.  I figured it wouldn’t be anything much.  But it was.

Leave a Reply

Categories

