Posted by: cg00n | May 5, 2008

In his own words

“I’ve been in this bed for 4 days now.  I have to keep my foot elevated to allow the skin graft to drain properly while it establishes itself.  My right leg is one huge bandage from toes to kneecap.  There is also a dressing above the right knee covering the place behind the knee where a lymph node used to be.  Another dressing on my groin covers up the absence of second lymph node.  And on my *left* thigh, there is a dressing covering up the place where my skin graft originated.  Sucks to be me!  Fortunately we are nearing the end of this phase of the torture.

Tomorrow they will take off the big dressing and, if all looks well (I don’t even want to THINK about the alternative) I should have a little limited mobility.  They will make me some kind of plastic “cast” for my right leg to protect it from bumps and keep the dressings clean.  Day by day I will be able to tolerate a lowered leg for a longer period, but it will probably be a couple of months before I can walk without crutches.  Still, it is something to look forward to, and there’s not been so much of that lately.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

