Posted by: cg00n | May 20, 2008

Hot off the press

We have just returned from our appointment with the surgeon and the first trickle of real news has flowed out of the medical establishment.  My inguinal (groin) lymph node was free of cancer, but the one behind my knee was not.  This is better than we anticipated but obviously not as good as we hoped.  The result may mean that some more surgery to remove more lymph nodes from my leg will take care of the problem.  Tomorrow’s CT scan will confirm whether or not the melanoma has spread to other areas of my body.  If it has then we are into remedial and probably ongoing treatment.  The results of the scan should be available in about a week.

We will probably not see the oncologist for a few weeks (busy people) but according to our current batch of doctors that won’t have any impact on the cancer’s progress, if any.

On the very positive side of things my foot is healing very well.  All the sutures are now removed (except for the ones that dissolve by themselves) and the surgeons are well-pleased with their handiwork.  They took lots of pictures.  In another couple of weeks I may be learning to walk again.

Today’s appointment was long.  We left home about 8:30 to be there for 10:00 and didn’t actually get called until after 11:00.  They finally finished talking to us and pulling stitches out around 2:00 at which point we went off in search of lunch.  We found it in a delightful little cafe in a small town about 25 minutes from home.  It was so great to feel almost normal again!  I spent today getting around on crutches which are much less limiting than the walker.  On the way home I actually rode in the front seat of the car!  Lunch was the first time P and I have been out for a meal in weeks.

The sun is shining and I’m feeling great.

Responses

  1. That is some good news, and some not so good news…although I would imagine that if you were to choose which node would be better to have the errant cancer cells, the lower one, closest the original location, is probably the better one.

    Because I am always looking for excuses to eat, I am curious about the place you found for lunch -25 minutes in which direction?

    We are keeping our fingers crossed for tommorrow’s scan.

  2. Hi,

    I’m following your blog and not quite done. I’m glad that you had a good day. I’ll write you a long email later and relate my experiences with my father and mother-in-law’s cancer.

    Take care,
    Lilly Wong

  3. I’m sorry to hear that you struggle with depression which I experienced briefly in my life when I was a young adult and decided that it is the most debilitating of all illnesses.

    Pretend to be upbeat and you will be so.
    You are deeply valued by all who know you well. So ride the waves like a good surfer! Warmest wishes, Helen


Leave a Reply

Categories

