Posted by: cg00n | May 30, 2008

My Foot

I promised you all an update on my foot. Well, it is up and hobbling! When the VON came today and removed the dressing I got her to watch while I put some weight on the poor, much-repaired thing. We both agreed that there was no particular stress on any of the ex-stitches (what do you call them? scars?) so I would not be guilty of abusing my foot to try walking on it. For a while I limped around the house using one crutch so that I could take most of my weight on my right arm and spare the foot. Then I got braver and tried (gasp!) without the crutch. The stuff of which heroes are made, right? Right. I have to say it is quite uncomfortable to walk on but not really painful. However my calf muscles are protesting mightily now that I have forced them out of retirement. It will be some time before I can get around with any ease, but at least it’s a step in the right direction. Tomorrow I’m going to try driving.

Two presents arrived by mail today; that’s real mail, not email. One was a fine collection of Tony Hancock radio recordings from a friend in Calgary, a wonderful gift which is guaranteed to make me laugh. The other was two books from a friend in Ireland. One book is a historical whodunnit which ought to be a pleasant distraction from reality, the other is a recipe for curing yourself of whatever ails you using a five-step program devised by the author when he was suffering from “incurable” MS some time back. I always approach these self-cure programs with skepticism but the friend who sent it is a scientist so I’m certainly going to give it a fair reading. I am curious to know what you, my faithful readers, think about the mind-body relationship when it comes to recovering from some physical illness or other. At this point I won’t bias the discussion by revealing my thoughts but if any of you would like to comment, preferably citing credible references, I would be fascinated to hear what you have to say. Sometime in the next few posts I will bring this up again and tell you what I think and whether or not any of you have managed to influence me in this respect. Ladies and gentlemen, start your keyboards!

Leave a Reply

Categories

