Posted by: cg00n | August 28, 2008

Hypnotherapy 2

Spent yesterday afternoon with the hypnotherapist again.  This time I asked him to teach me how to hypnotize myself.  I’m not quite sure I’ve got it all figured out yet, but it was useful all the same.

On this occasion he specifically said that we would proceed a little more formally than we did previously.  I reclined in an all-encompassing La-Z-Boy, closed my eyes and listed to his rather monotonous and somewhat rhythmic recitation exhorting me to become very relaxed.  As far as I know I was completely conscious the whole time.  He “suggested” (among other things) that I would “amaze” my doctors by the speed and completeness of my recovery from the surgery next week and summoned an image that would define “good health” for me.  (He used the term image loosely:  I did come up with a picture but a sound or a feeling would have been acceptable.)  At the end of the session he said that if I want to hypnotize myself what I should do is to relax thoroughly and summon the image.  What I am not clear about is whether this is purely to give myself a kind of boost (like re-living our whole session) or whether I could suggest new things to myself in that state.

Whether or not the hypno part works I am still not quite convinced.  However they have been two very relaxing and positively reinforcing counseling sessions.

Finally, in today’s news, for the first time in a long time I was able to drive myself to a scenic spot (in order to take a walk) without feeling guilty about the gas I was burning!  I tend to agonize over every drop of gas I use and every ounce of carbon dioxide I emit these days.  However good that may be for the planet it is one more burden I find it difficult to bear at present so I have decided to give myself a bit of a break for the sake of my health.  I hope this doesn’t harm my chances of being beatified by David Suzuki 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

