Posted by: cg00n | October 10, 2008

Cruising

Just got back yesterday from a one-week mini vacation with P.  We spent 5 days on a Holland-America cruise up the St. Lawrence with stops at Montreal, Quebec City, Charlottetown, Sydney (NS) and Halifax.  Weather was poor, food was great, internet (via satellite) was expensive!  All in all we had a great time.  My leakage has slowed to almost nothing once more so we’re hoping the wound will now heal over.

cruising

Next week brings the tri-monthly CT scan.  I’m not feeling at all nervous for two reasons.  The first is that I doubt if it will reveal anything particularly sinister (except maybe the absence of a brain) and the second is that I really think I will be able to cope with more bad news if it turns up.  With any luck I won’t have to test that latter theory of course.

Also coming up next week is the second session in the “mindfulness” workshop series at the Cancer Centre.  The “text book” for the course is Full Catastrophe Living by Jon Kabat-Zinn (which comes with a preface by Thich Nhat Hanh).  Kabat-Zinn is closely associated with the Stress Reduction Clinic at the U.Mass Medical Center.  All this mental exercise is proving very interesting.  If it does nothing more than give me something to concentrate on and hope for a better life it will be valuable.  My gut tells me it should do a lot more than that:  I am still feeling very optimistic about things at present.

The week of excessive eating has loaded me up with two or three more pounds of flesh and my jeans fit rather better than they have in recent months.  P is happy I am no longer hovering around my minimum recommended body-mass index point.  I’m just glad to be enjoying my food so much.   Which reminds me:

  • Chinese dietitian:   Lo Fat

Come on, people!  Put your warped and battered thinking caps on and toss some names into the pool!  What do you think Gung Ho does for a living?

Leave a Reply

Categories

