Posted by: cg00n | February 19, 2009

Life goes on

I’m really just posting this so you don’t think I’ve died.  There appears to be no particularly serious danger of that right now.

My last visit to the surgeon was uneventful.  She said both the samples taken from the bumps on my leg were “benign”.  The insect bite (or whatever) is just so weird though:  it’s been there for about 3 months now and shows no particular sign of going away.  It itches if I scratch it but it doesn’t hurt or bleed or do anything dramatic.

I now have 3 pairs of surgical stockings.  Here’s the picture you’ve all been waiting for:

sexy-legIt hides the scars, anyway.  I put on a clean one every day and wash the used ones in cold water detergent every day or two before I shower.  They dry out overnight on a towel rail so I always have a bunch of clean ones ready to go.  To give the elastic top a bit more grip on my leg I use some elastic (ACE) bandage and safety pins to make a sort of garter.  It does absolutely nothing to improve the look of the thing.  The surgeon says that she would like to see me wear it for a year (I’ll just bet she would 🙂 ) but that after that I might find I can cut back to half days.  For this summer I am planning to get myself some really light and cool long pants.  Aside from feeling a little self-conscious about the appearance I want to try to keep the insects away from my leg as much as possible to avoid another cellulitis infection.

My six-week on-line minfulness course has more or less wrapped up.  I highly recommend it to any of you who might be interested.  It certainly helped me understand what this is all about and how it might be used to improve my state of being.  Although I am still not very reliable about meditating I usually manage at least half an hour a day and sometimes a lot more at the end of which I feel much more focussed and living in the present moment.

My daughter is calling me.  We are currently reading the fourth book in the Hitchikers’ Guide to the Galaxy trilogy.  I must go and find my towel.

Responses

  1. I was going to emit a long whistle when I saw the photo of your stocking clad leg … but hard to transmit via blog.

    Great to know the mosquitoe bite turned out to be benign … and that you did not expire between blog postings.

  2. Looking forward to your debut in the next Nova Scotia production of Rocky Horror Show!


Leave a Reply

Categories

