Posted by: cg00n | September 1, 2009

A Visit to Dr. M

Today we spent a pleasant quarter hour or so with Dr. M, the plastic surgeon.  He seems to think everything is healing about as well as can be expected given the amount of chemo that was pumped through my leg.  That is to say, it is all fine but coming along a little more slowly than it might.  I now have permission to walk on my right foot again which is easier said than done due to the state of the muscles (viz: more or less non-existent) in that leg.  However, I have been putting some weight on it and I suspect it will be much better in a couple of days.  I also have permission to strip the dressings off and shower the whole leg.  If I time this to happen just before the VON shows up (every second day) things should work out very nicely.  As it is I took a dry scrubbing brush to my right thigh today and succeeded in dislodging about a pound of loose skin.  Dr. M’s nurse picked quite a lot of encrusted primordial ooze off my calf earlier on so all in all the whole thing looks much healthier than it did yesterday.

Of course, Dr. M is non-committal regarding the long-term effects of the whole perfusion thing.  On my “up” days I feel very optimistic that it is going keep me going for years to come which is not a wholly unreasonable projection.  On my “down” days I wonder if it will all be a repeat of last year’s experience:  go to all that trouble and have it recur in six months.  There’s no way to predict what will happen so I will just have to cope with the uncertainty.

At present I am finely balanced between “up” and “down”.  Back in mid-July I had a nasty head crash and started popping 60mg of Prozac (up from 40) to see if it would help.  By mid-August P was fairly convinced that it wasn’t making any difference so I dropped it back to 40mg.  Over the last few days, though, I’ve been noticing more negative thinking sneaking into my stream of consciousness and P agrees that I’ve been less upbeat than I was a week or two ago.  Starting tomorrow I’ll be taking 60mg again and keeping careful track of my state of mind for the next few weeks.  Should be interesting.

Next Tuesday we are scheduled to meet Dr. G, the general surgeon who performed the perfusion.  There are still a few places that he cut open that have not completely healed and one small cut on my knee that split open about a week ago.  All this stuff is knitting together slowly so I don’t expect him to have a whole lot to say about it.  I’ll pass the word along when I get it.

We have a couple of friends from the west visiting again which is a tremendous morale booster.  I’d like to be more mobile and have rather more energy while they’re here but that’s not going to happen.  I’ve had to miss one good party this last week because I was too tired (and maybe a little depressed) to drag my carcass out for a bout of socializing.  Still, it is good to have the company in-house and there are a few carousing opportunities available before they leave.  I’ll try to make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

