Posted by: cg00n | May 15, 2010

One toe over the line

Today marks the beginning of my recognition as a senior citizen.  Contrary to what my Farcebook says, May 15th is my real birthday but don’t tell Mark Zuckerberg that!  Many organizations start offering discounts and other special deals to those over 55, one of the few advantages (I believe) of getting old.  A couple of years ago I didn’t know if I would make it this far but I still seem to be sailing along, albeit rather tattered and battered by storms and other hazards to navigation.  Some days I feel as though 65 or 70 is quite possible, other days I think I’ll be lucky to make another year.  Either view may be accurate:  time alone will determine the outcome.  Meanwhile, there is a turkey in the oven (and it’s not me, folks!) and I’m having a very pleasantly relaxed day.

We got news a couple of days ago that my PET scan has been scheduled for May 26th which means the surgery for the two lumps we know about will have to be postponed, although it should happen fairly soon anyway.

I wish you all many happy birthdays to come.

Responses

  1. although it is 3 hrs and 20 mins until its may 16, i still want to wish u a birthday and year that uve always wanted. glad to hear ur relaxing and enjoying ur special day. love u lots =)

  2. Happy Birthday – Sorry I missed it. All the best.

    A

  3. Belated birthday greetings. Funny I can’t wait to be 55 to get all of the senior discounts but I never actually thought of the fact that would make me a senior citizen! That conjures up thoughts of needing help to cross the street and walking with a cane.

    Glad to hear that the new lumps have been taken care of. I know that I learned in jr high how to not end a sentence with a dangling participle but dang it if I remember how to do it.

    Hope you enjoy your summer.

    Much love and hugs.

  4. I’m sorry I missed your birthday, but I have been having Issues with Comcast’s alleged Customer and Technical support. Very long & boring story. I now have a new email, and have to figure out how to change that on this site.

    May your next trip around the sun be as uneventful as possible, medically speaking.

  5. Right. The senior advantage. Noah’s Bagels, I think, gives me a discount, but most places wait until 60/62/65, darn them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

