Posted by: cg00n | May 11, 2011

Unexciting Times

I am happy to report that since my last posting I have found no new lumps or any other symptoms to provoke anxiety.   Of course there could be nasty things happening elsewhere in my body but I’m going to postpone worrying about that possibility until there are some suggestive symptoms.

A visit to Dr. G on Tuesday was quite upbeat.  Apparently one of his (richer) patients has helped him to get a melanoma tissue bank started so he is enthusiasm personified about his new project.  He will get me scheduled for another PET scan sometime soon to check those parts that cannot be examined from the outside but he thinks I am doing very well.

Next week I’ll be checking in with Dr. M  just to follow up on the evil eye excision and Dr. C to assess my current state of sanity or otherwise.  I’d be surprised if there were any surprises.  Obviously.

News Roundup

It’s great that there is so much news.  Even if only a small percentage of the new treatments, drugs, insights or whatever turn out to be of value at least there is some progress!

On the melanoma front:

Of course, there is always something to report in general cancer research:

In other news:

That’s quite enough for now.  I still have to update my References page.  When I started this blog I had no idea just how time consuming an activity it would prove to be.  Still, it seems to be helping me to cope with myself and judging by the comments it occasionally helps others too.  As long as it’s doing somebody some good I’ll keep blathering on.

Responses

  1. Glad to hear things are unexciting! Interesting articles in the Globe&Mail. Followed a few “related story” links.

    In *my* health news:
    Had my eyes checked for new glasses, and got the lovely dx of two different glaucomas (oopen and closed angle types, treating with drops) and cataracts at stage 2 of 4. When it gets to 3 of 4, I’ll have surgery, and get better eyes than I ever had before! My son took Q, and so I should get his eyes checked too. None of my meds or my diabetes had any measurable effect on the development of either disorder, but my farsightedness did, structurally.

    My right heel/foot/calf is recovering well from my bonespur removal surgery NYE 2010, but still a lot of strength needed before I can pivot or lift myself with that leg. I *think* I told you about that.

  2. I just ran across this edifying thought:

    Cancer is so limited—
    It cannot cripple love
    It cannot shatter hope
    It cannot corrode faith
    It cannot destroy peace
    It cannot kill friendship
    It cannot suppress memories
    It cannot silence courage
    It cannot invade the soul
    It cannot steal eternal life
    It cannot conquer the spirit

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY
    You are an indomitable spirit on the same brave journey with the rest of us earthlings. What is it all about more than the joy of a day like this? Helen

  3. Cancer and my family/friends has turned out very differently than I thought it would. Here you are two years post dx and living out life to the fullest. Our mutual Lethbridge friend was probably given weeks and he’s had more than a year. My father has been given 3 months to live, every three months, for over two years. He’s going for radiation tx again next week. I am thankful for the good news stories but also very cognisant that now the stories have become about how to live well with cancer. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

