Posted by: cg00n | August 16, 2011

Summertiiiime, and the living is easy…

Two months since I last posted here.  Amazing how the time flies.  A lot has happened in that period but none of it relates to bad health on my part.  Two doctors have examined me and can find nothing at all to complain about.  In addition to the good news Randi seems to be making progress, Ian is still organizing golf tourneys etc. and I hear that Mr. P.T of Halifax is doing OK on one of the BRAF-targeting drugs.

In the not-so-good news department, P‘s mother (who is quite elderly) has been diagnosed with lung & liver cancer of some kind and one of my dear friends suffered the loss (to cancer) of two close relatives in the last year.  Every so often it is useful to be reminded that it’s not just me that’s dying and that, sooner or later, it will be my turn.  But not today!

Did anyone take a look at the Burzynski article or the online movie I mentioned in the previous post?  Seriously, I’d be interested to hear whether people think he is onto something or just another pseudo-scientist.

News Roundup

First, a number of edutainment items.  I learned from Miss Melanoma that there is to be a new movie about coping with cancer.  It is called 50/50, as in “the odds of your survival are…”.   The trailer looks really interesting although I’m not sure I could cope with the emotional overload of watching it on a big screen:  I may have to wait for the DVD.  Speaking of odds, a recent xkcd comic does a good job of  explaining the statistics  (thanks to Dr. D.L of Calgary for that pointer) and here’s a sad but inspiring story about a young man who failed to beat them.  The New York Times also has a good piece illustrating some theories regarding the mechanisms underlying cancer.

Now, on to the hard stuff – a bunch of items specific to melanoma:

Due to limited time, space and patience I have cut back on the number of items I collect related to other cancers but there are still a number of very interesting developments:

I hope all that proves helpful to someone or other.  Knowing that there is so much progress in so many small but important ways helps me to remain optimistic that I may have a couple of decades in me yet.  As always, thanks for your support and please check back here from time to time.  You know there is an RSS feed too, right?

Responses

  1. super website carry on.

  2. I am so so sorry to hear about P’s Mum.

  3. My sympathies to P and her mum (and those who love them).

    To me, an RSS feed is like a drip watering system on a timer: without the automation, I’d lose out on a lot. I hate hand watering, and things die if they rely on me doing it! I never remember to check websites regularly, hence the use of RSS feeds to keep me up to date with what’s going on.

  4. I am also sorry to hear about P’s mother. I remember her taking care of A when she was a toddler. So proud of her granddaughter.

    Amazing and encouraging that there is so much news related to cancer research. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

