Posted by: cg00n | April 2, 2017

Sproing is Sprang

In the last episode, US Pres #45 had just been elected and I had just embarked on a course of treatment involving BCG.  So the good news is that the BCG treatment appears to be working, with respect to the melanoma, if not the new US President.

Just two treatments with BCG along with the ongoing IL-2 regimen was enough to clobber a fairly large lump on my calf.  It took several months and was somewhat messy in terms of having to re-dress the thing every day, but it has Gone which is a happy outcome.  We have now started treating 3 more lumps which are also disintegrating messily.  The only one that is giving me some problems is the one on the top of my foot, first introduced to you in February, 2014. It has almost gone away several times, but somehow always fights its way back.  Late last year it got a small bacterial infection which made kneeling to meditate a truly excruciatingly painful experience.  This time I hope we can see the bugger off, but (as previously mentioned) it is a messy process which makes putting shoes on and walking any distance an ooze-inducing activity.

Even if this works really well, it will still be some time before I am free of all my bi-weekly injections.  My next appointment is coming up on Wednesday, and that will leave me feeling pretty shagged out until the weekend.  I watch a lot of old TV shows to pass the time.  Did you know that YouTube has a pretty good collection of Laugh In, and even a few That Was The Week That Was episodes?  Very interesting … but stupid.

My life may be a garden of rose bushes, but sadly I have lost four friends since the last time I blogged:

  • Ms. KT of Calgary has died.  This was entirely expected, but very sad all the same.  She was in her early 40s; much too young.
  • Mrs. SH of  Bowen Island BC died quite unexpectedly in December after a short illness – a great loss to her family.
  • Mr. AK of Martin’s River NS succumbed in January to a recurrence of lung cancer.
  • Mr. DR of  Creston BC died in March after a long battle with ALS.

May they all rest in peace, and may the rest of you live long and healthy lives.  Buddhism looks at death as being just one more phase of existence, a view that I find very comforting.  When this whole saga started for me, I was very afraid of what was to come.  Now I feel quite phlegmatic.  We’ll see how well that holds up when the guy with the scythe is standing beside my bed.

We have had several mild doses of spring here, but each one seems to be a teaser.  Today it’s snowing again and the coming week doesn’t look promising.  Work on various projects proceeds in fits and starts.  Still, it encourages me to meditate:  beats standing naked in the snow screaming at the clouds.  The family is all doing well, although P has had two nasty colds in tandem (which I have somehow managed to dodge).  A lives in Toronto these days, working on a MSc degree from U of T.  All of us seem to be pretty content with life right now.  We wish the same for all of you.

News Roundup

It’s time for the part of this posting that may actually be useful and that also keeps me safely off the streets for a whole afternoon.  As always I am indebted to my faithful unpaid research assistants throughout the world who help to keep me up-to-date!  Cheers, all.

Too Much Sun

 

Self-Checkouts

Understanding the Beast (and giving it a really bad time)

Feeling Better

Alt.Science

Also please note that I have added some links to the BlogRoll.  Most of these are to melanoma support and information websites.  However, one link deserves special mention:

Understanding Health Research

This is a tool that helps interpret health research papers which are often quite impenetrable.  Give it a shot and let me know if you think it a worthy addition.

Have a great summer!

Responses

  1. Good Evening,
    Just curious about BCG. I suppose I could Google it:) I just recently started Imlygic (t-Vec) injections for three lesions on my leg and wondering how/if BCG and IL-2 may be used if this treatment plan is a fail.

  2. Hello Mary,

    Bacillus Calmette–Guérin (BCG) vaccine was originally developed for treating tuberculosis. Wikipedia has quite a good article at:

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BCG_vaccine

    It is also used as a sort of adjuvant in other cancer treatments. In my case it basically helps my immune system to remember what it is supposed to be fighting. Many people don’t seem to need it: the IL-2 alone does the job.

    From my (limited) research, it sounds as though Imlygic is IL-2 like in its intended usage and effects. I hope the treatments work out for you! At least there are some options these days.

    Thanks for writing.

  3. Thanks for the update. Really good news about the BCG treatment. I think I remember getting a BCG scrape when I was at school.

    In case you haven’t come across it, and you’d like to close your eyes while you listen, try “http://www.radioechoes.com/bandaid/”. Much Hancock, I’m Sorry I’ll Read That Again, etc.


Leave a Reply

Categories

